EEA Education Committee 2023 Awards on Teaching Economics

EEA is pleased to announce, through its Education Committee, the 2nd edition of a number of prizes to those academic economists who have made a significant contribution to spreading knowledge on economics through their teaching.

The EEA has 2 types of annual awards:

1. The EEA Award for Exceptional Teaching

The EEA Award for Exceptional Teaching is given to 3 categories: 

- Junior (non-tenured) 

- Senior (tenured or equivalent) 

- Early career (teaching assistants and/or PHD Students)

Nominations to the award are channeled through academic departments, who are allowed to present a unique candidate for each of the 3 prizes. Nominations must include a short report justifying the reasons why the candidate deserves the prize. The prize consists of 1000 euros.

2. The EEA Award for Innovation in Teaching

The EEA Award for Innovation in Teaching is given to an individual / group, who has / have produced an innovation in their teaching (even if in pilot form). The prize is in the form of a seed grant of 2000 euros, to allow for the further development of the project. Applications must include a report from the individual / group explaining their project as well as two letters of support by senior faculty members explaining the contribution of the innovative project. The Committee accepts self-nominations.

The award committee of all prizes comprises a member of Education Committee and 2 other EEA Council members. The 2023 Award will be decided no later than end of July, and will be handed during EEA-ESEM Barcelona, to be held between August 28 and September 1.

Please send your applications for the 2023 Awards to, no later than July 15, 2023

To find out more about the 2022 edition of the Award, please visit here for Exceptional Teaching and here for Innovation in Teaching.

To find out more about the work of the EEA Education Committee, please visit here

The EEA thanks you for your continued support. 

Best wishes, 


Maristella Botticini
EEA President, 2023